top of page

SCOTT MCCALLUM: Former Governor of Wisconsin

McCallum was the Wisconsin Governor from 2001 to 2003 after serving as Lt. Governor for fourteen years, and in the State Senate for ten years prior to that.

He has a B.A. from Macalester College, M.A., from the Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies, an Honorary Jurist Doctor degree from Marian University, and is completing a PhD in Integrative Communications for Administration and Policy at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.


From 2005 to 2015, McCallum was President and CEO of the Aidmatrix Foundation. Under his leadership, they grew from a regional nonprofit organization to one of the world’s largest technology providers to the humanitarian sector, working with over 32,000 clients on five continents.  


McCallum has been on the faculty at the University of Wisconsin-Madison (2009-2017) teaching in the Biotechnology M.S. program in the School of Medicine and Public Health, is presently Adjunct Professor in the UW LaFollette School of Public Affairs, and is on the faculty at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Bader Institute of Nonprofit Management. He is published and has presented throughout the world on technology for humanitarian purposes and its effect upon jobs and public policy.  He also represents health care and technology companies in establishing collaborative projects.  His academic research continues to provide insights of the technology revolution impact upon the global economy.


He serves on nonprofit organization boards for the Institute of Sustainable Development (D.C.), ResponseNet (Delhi), the Alliance for Innovation (Warsaw), and the Helen Bader Institute of Nonprofit Management at UWM. He is also a consultant for both nonprofit and for-profit organizations in the U.S., India, Poland, and Canada.


McCallum has received many awards for his use of technology to advance humanitarian issues, including the 21st Century Achievement Award for “visionary use of information technology to promote positive social economic and educational change” and being a “true hero of the information age” (Computerworld).  Government Technology Magazine named McCallum to the “Top 25 Doers, Dreamers, and Drivers” in U.S. Technology in March 2013.


A partial list of publications includes: "How Technology is Transforming Disaster Relief" (McCallum), "On the Brink" (U.S. Chamber of Commerce 2008), "Budgeting & Funding Technology – How to Finance Your IT Structure" (McCallum, Thode), "Managing Technology to Meet Your Mission: A Strategic Guide for Nonprofit Leaders" (Wiley Publishers, 2009), "Nongovernmental Organizations: Solving Society’s Problems" (S. McCallum, R. Boyer), "Strategic Public Relations and Integrated Marketing Communications" (edited by Caywood, McGraw-Hill 2012), "Work Analysis, Technology, and the Millennium Development Goals" (S. McCallum, L.F. Thompson, A. Gloss), "Humanitarian Work Psychology and the Global Development Agenda: Case Studies and Interventions" (edited by McWha, Maynard, and Berry, London: Psychology Press 2016), "Psychological Dynamics in Information and Communication Technology for Development Projects" (Behrend, Gloss, Honadon, Thompson, McCallum), "Information Communications Technology for Development Conference" (Cape Town, South Africa, 2013).

bottom of page